How to extend an online session

After a five minute warning, online sessions will end at the scheduled time unless the instructor extends the session. This article explains student permissions and how instructors can approve time extensions in the online classroom.

Users: This article is for all users

Prerequisites: None

Read the step-by-step instructions below or skip ahead: 

How to Extend a Session

Each session has a scheduled start time and end time. Five minutes prior to the session’s scheduled end time, both the instructor and the student will be given notice that the session is scheduled to end. The notice will appear as an additional icon in the left-hand navigation bar of the online classroom. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.00.40 AM

The Student will receive a notification that the session will end as shown below.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.08.46 AM

The instructor will receive a notification and the option to approve or deny extending the session by 30 minutes.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.08.58 AM

The instructor can click the checkmark to add an additional 30 minutes to the session and will see a confirmation as shown below.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.09.08 AM

Or the instructor can click the “ X ” to deny the time extension as shown below.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.09.21 AM

If the session is not extended, then the session will end. Session participants have a 5-minute grace period to wrap up the session.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.09.40 AM

Once the five minute grace period has passed, the online classroom will close out and both the instructor and student will be taken to the Post-Session Report screen to submit their feedback. 

Note: If an instructor is not getting the notification to extend sessions, it is likely because the “Extend Session” permission has been turned off in the student’s account settings.

Extending a Session Permissions

The system was designed so that admins and parents have the ability to turn on/off the session extension feature associated with individual students. This permission exists so that parents and/or admins control the potential for additional fees that may be charged as a result of time added to an online session. 

This permission can be managed from the admin portal (for all student users) or the parent portal (for associated student users).

The “Extend Session” permission is found in the Student Details page.

Session Extension Permissions from the Parent Portal

To navigate to the Student Details page from the Parent Portal, click “Students” in the left navigation bar. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.18.16 AM

On the Students Page, click on the name of the Student whose permission you’d like to manage. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.18.31 AM

Once on your Student’s Details Page, scroll down to the bottom of the page and deselect or select the permission to extend the session beyond the scheduled end time. Click “Save” to confirm the changes.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.18.41 AM

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.18.48 AM

The default setting is set to “Allow sessions to be extended beyond the scheduled duration.” To prevent instructors from being able to extend online sessions with the student, uncheck the box.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.18.56 AM

Session Extension Permissions from the Admin Portal

To navigate to the Student Details page from the Admin Portal, use the search bar in the top navigation bar,

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.19.04 AM

or in the “Users” search to find the student. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.19.13 AM

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.19.23 AM

After you have found the correct student, navigate to their Students Details Page by clicking on the name of the student whose permission you’d like to manage.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.19.34 AM

Once on your Student’s Details Page, scroll down to the bottom of the page and deselect or select the permission to extend the session beyond the scheduled end time. Click “Save” to confirm the changes. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.18.41 AM

Scroll to the bottom of their student “Details and profile information” to view/change permissions.

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.19.50 AM

The default setting is set to “Extend Session” beyond the scheduled end time. To prevent instructors from being able to extend online sessions with the student, uncheck the box. 

Screen Shot 2020-06-10 at 9.19.56 AM

Click “Save” to save the changes. 

 

Need more information? Check out the related articles below: