1. Help Center
  2. Getting Started!

How to create and edit Student Groups in your online platform

Set up student groups to easily schedule multi-student sessions

User: This article is for Organizational Admins

Prerequisites: Set up your Administrator account | Add your Instructor(s) 

Follow the step-by-step instructions outlined below to:

  1. Create a new student group and add students
  2. Assign/add an instructor to a group
  3. Add a student to an existing group
  4. Remove a student from an existing group
  5. Edit details for an existing group

1. Create a new student group and add students

Click on “Groups” in the left navigation bar of the Admin Dashboard to open the Groups page.

In the right pane of the Groups page under “Add Group”, assign a name and *capacity and click Save.

*Capacity is the max number of students you wish to have in the group. Set the capacity as a reference. The system will provide a warning when you reach your group’s capacity, however, the system will not limit you when adding students to your group. 

Note: To create a group, you must add at least 1 student. Once you have completed step 1, you will be prompted to add at least 1 student to your new group.

If the student is an existing user on your platform, type their name or email in the “Find a student” field and select the existing student from the drop-down and click “Add”. 

If the student is a new user on your platform, click “invite student by email” then fill out the form with the student’s name and email. The new student will receive an email asking them to complete the account setup process.

Once you have added our student(s) to the new group, the button in the bottom right corner of the pop-up window will become active and allow you to save the group. 

2. Assign/add an instructor to a group

To assign an instructor to a student group, click on the name of the Group to open the Group Management page.

In the “Instructors” section, type the instructor’s name or email and select the existing instructor from the drop-down and click “Add to group”. Instructors must be existing users in your platform in order for you to add/assign them to a student group. Click here for instructions on how to add instructors to your platform.

Note: Instructors are also automatically assigned to a group during session booking. If you select an instructor and book a session with a group, that instructor will be assigned to the group if they have not already been added using the method outlined above.

3. Add a student to an existing group 

To add a student to an existing group, click on the name of the Group to open the Group Management page. In the “Student Roster” section, click on the button “Add Students”

If the student is an existing user on your platform, type their name or email and select the existing student from the drop-down and click “Add”. 

If the student is a new user on your platform, click “invite student by email” then fill out the form with the student’s name and email.

As you add students or invite them by email, a list of the students will populate just above the group details. Once you verify these are the correct students to be added to the group, finalize the addition by clicking the orange button at the bottom “Add # students to group”.

4. Remove a student from an existing group 

To remove a student from an existing group, click on the Group name to open the Group Management page. In the “Student Roster” section, click on the “x” button to remove the student from that specific Group.

5. Edit the name and/or capacity of an existing Group

To edit the name and/or *capacity of an existing Group, click on the name of the Group you want to edit to open the Group Management page for that Group. Then, click on the “Edit group details” button at the top right.

*Capacity is the max number of students you wish to have in the group. Set the capacity as a reference. The system will provide a warning when you reach your group’s capacity, however, the system will not limit you when adding students to your group. 

Change the name and/or capacity of the Group and click “Save changes”

 

Need more info? Check out the following related articles: