Admins have control over user access to the online platform. This allows them to archive user accounts on the platform.
Users: This article is for Organization Administrators
Prerequisites: Admin account is activated | Users have been added to the system
Follow the step-by-step instructions outlined below to:
- Understand Active vs Archived User Accounts
- How to Archive a User Account
- View/Manage Archived Users
- Restore an Archived User
Active User Accounts
When you add a new user to your organization they are sent an activation email. They will need to activate their account, by receiving that email and follow the instructors to add their name, email address and create a password. Once they have taken these steps, the new user will have an active account in your organization.
Adding Instructors and Admins to Your Online Platform
Archived User Accounts
To be clear, archiving a user is not the same as deleting a user from the system. Activated users cannot be deleted from an organization, but they can be archived.
We recommend archiving a user if they discontinue services with your organization. When a user is archived, they will disappear from your main "Users" lists and that user will lose access to your organization (their email/username and password will no longer permit them access to their account in your organization). You can reactivate an archived user at any time to reinstate their account access to your organization.
How to archive a user account
To archive a user account, navigate to your “Users” list and search for the individual you’d like to archive.
Click on the user’s name. This will take you to their User Details page.
At the bottom of the details page, there will be an "Archive User" button. Scroll down and click the button to stop the user from accessing their account.
A window will appear with important information regarding archiving users. Once you’ve read through the important information, click the “Yes, Archive this User” to complete the process.
A notification will appear to confirm that the User has been successfully archived.
View/Manage Archived Users
To view and manage archived users, navigate to the "User Management" page using the "Users" tab in the left navigation bar of the admin portal.
Once on the "User Management" page, use the filters at the top of the page to search/filter your users.
Set the "View Archived Users?" field to "No" and click "Search" to filter the page.
You will get a list of your system's archived accounts.
Restore an archived user
From the filtered user list displaying your archived users (step outlined above), click on the specific user's name to navigate to their User Details page.
In the top right of the details page, there will be an "Activate User" button. Click the button to restore the account.
Once restored, the user will regain access to the platform. They will also reappear in the main "Users" lists on your admin pages.
Need more information? Check out the following related articles: